Haieff Divertimento

This work was composed in five sections: “Prelude,” “Aria,” “Scherzo,” “Lullaby,” and a “Finale.” The ballet is choreographed for a leading couple and four supporting couples dressed in simple costumes. Haieff Divertimento features a blues pas de deux and combines popular American dance idioms and modern concert dance with classic ballet.

Alexei Haieff was born inSiberia in 1914. A pianist and composer, he studied with Constantine Shredov and Nadia Boulanger. He attended The Juilliard School and was honored with theAmericanAcademy in Rome Medal (1942), the Lili Boulanger Memorial Award (1942), and two John Simon Guggenheim Fellowships (1946 and 1949).

Repertory notes provided courtesy of and adapted from New York City Ballet Online Repertory Index. Additional sources: Choreography by George Balanchine: A Catalogue of Works, An Eakins Press Foundation Book, published by Viking (1984); and Repertory in Review: 40 Years of the New York City Ballet by Nancy Reynolds (1970; The Dial Press).  Photo credit: Photo © Paul Kolnik
Choreography:  George Balanchine © The George Balanchine Trust
Music:  Divertimento for small orchestra
Composer:  Haieff, Alexei
Premiere:  1947
Average Length:  14 minutes
No. Dancers:  10