Sylvia Pas de Deux

This ballet is in the tradition of a grand pas de deux, with “Entree,” “Adagio,” two solos, and a “Coda.”

Léo Delibes (1836-1891) was born in St. Germain du Val and died in Paris. He learned music as a child from his mother and uncle. Renowned as a composer for dance, he had a gift for illustrating action, creating atmosphere, and inspiring movement. Although he spent many years as a church organist, he was drawn more to the theater, and he composed many light operas. The decisive advance in his career came in 1870, with his full-length ballet Coppélia, which includes melodic national dances, descriptive passages introducing the main characters, and musical effects that have captured audiences for more than 100 years.

Repertory notes provided courtesy of and adapted from New York City Ballet Online Repertory Index. Additional sources: Choreography by George Balanchine: A Catalogue of Works, An Eakins Press Foundation Book, published by Viking (1984); and Repertory in Review: 40 Years of the New York City Ballet by Nancy Reynolds (1970; The Dial Press). Photo credit: Photo © Paul Kolnik
The George Balanchine Trust - Sylvia Pas de Deux
Choreography:  George Balanchine © The George Balanchine Trust
Music:  From Sylvia, ou la Nymphe de Diane
Composer:  Delibes, Léo
Premiere:  1950
Average Length:  13 minutes
No. Dancers:  2